Middle English ost, host "person who receives guests, guest," borrowed from Anglo-French oste, hoste, going back to Latin hospit-, hospes "guest, visitor, person receiving guests," going back to dialectal Indo-European *ghosti-pot- (whence probably also Old Church Slavic gospodĭ "lord, master"), from *ghost-i- "outsider, guest" + *pot- "one in control, master" — more at guest entry 1, potent entry 1
In order to publish your website online, your business website requires a web hosting service. However, a web host gives business owners more than just web hosting services! For example, web hosting firms typically employ in-house technicians to make sure their clients' websites are up and running 24/7. Plus, when website owners are in need of help or troubleshooting (e.g. script debutting, email not able to send/receive, domain name renewal, and more), the web host's in-house support are the go-to people. A professional web hosting service ensures a hassle-free experience for business owners, so they can efficiently focus their time and effort on their businesses.
We've reviewed many WordPress hosting services aimed at individuals and small businesses, and included our favorites this guide. The chart above, which includes traditional web hosts that offer WordPress hosting and dedicated WordPress services, gives you a quick overview of the features you can find with each service. If you want a more in-depth look at those WordPress hosting services, read the full reviews, linked below.
WordPress is the #1 website creation software in the world. Powering over 25% of the internet, WordPress provides everything you need to create a beautiful and powerful website. Built by a community of global developers, WordPress is continuously being improved and refined to provide the best functionality and performance for its users. This open source approach has made WordPress the website creation and management platform of choice for new and skilled users all over the world.
Well, you went over speed and pricing but what about security. Who has the best overall when security is figured in. I ask because one of the ones you have listed I am on and they didn’t catch the websites being hacked I have 17 websites with code in them, they didn’t catch. It looks like bitcoin mining to me. See I keep asking why my website was loading so slow and they keep saying it was because they were not optimized right. Now the same sites were loading in 1.6 seconds to 1.8. Now they were taking 6.5 to 8 and even 9 seconds to load. THey cost me a great deal of time and money over this and even my backups are junk. I add this also they never found the problem till I personally found the problem and pointed it out. Needless to say, I am done with them…
This is where A2 Optimized came into play. A2 Optimized WordPress is a result of our team of optimization experts determining the most secure and highest performing setup by testing a number of configurations. Trust us, they tested a lot of WordPress configurations! At A2 Hosting, you get this pre-configured, A2 Optimized WordPress setup right out of the box when you sign up with us!
One thing we learned in reviewing the services listed here (and many more) is that even though the packages are very similar, they are not identical. Some are more security-focused than others, offering anti-spam and anti-malware tools. Others offer a variety of email marketing tools. While most of the hosts we've reviewed have built-in e-commerce, you may want to consider using a more-robust third-party online shopping cart application like Shopify instead.
Unlike shared or VPS hosting, dedicated hosting makes your website the lone tenant on a server. To extend the housing metaphor, having a dedicated server is like owning your own home. The means that your website taps the server's full power, and pays for the privilege. If you're looking for a high-powered site—an online mansion for your business—dedicated hosting is the way to go. That said, many dedicated web hosting services task you with handling backend, technical issues, much as homeowners have manage maintenance that renters generally leave to their landlords.
The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) is the organization that governs the rules and regulations for domain name registrations. ICANN requires, for various reasons including to determine ownership of a domain should a dispute transpire, that a publicly accessible database be maintained that contains the contact information of all domain registrants. In layman's terms this means your domain name will be searchable by anyone and those search results will include your full name, physical address and other contact information. In order to protect your privacy in this regard, Domain.com offers WHOIS Domain Privacy which then masks your information using our own and implements a procedure for you to control who is able to then gain access to your contact information via a WHOIS search. Whenever you buy a domain name, no matter what domain name registration service you use, you are subject to the same ICANN rules, for this reason it is important to use a reputable service who cares about your privacy. Domain.com always recommends enabling WHOIS Domain Privacy.
It’s no secret that WordPress is one of the most well-known blogging platforms on the web. A huge chunk of WordPress hosting customers are interested in blogging features. Users love it for how easy the platform is to just start writing, how many theme options are available to match your blog’s personality, as well as the huge community behind the platform.
When you buy a Premium Domain name, you are also buying strong branding potential, high recall, and the ability to attract more traffic to your site. Finding a relevant domain name to your business will provide you a storefront online, allowing your customers the most access to your products as possible. Your domain name is an investment that is easy to map back to success, and the perfect available domain name is just around the corner. 

In housing terms, VPS hosting is like renting your own apartment in a larger building. You're much more isolated than in the roommate situation mentioned above; it's still possible that a neighboring apartment could causes annoyance for you, but far less likely. In web hosting terms, Site A's traffic surge won't have nearly as much impact on Site B or Site C. As you'd expect, VPS hosting costs more than shared hosting. You'll pay roughly $20 to $60 per month.
When you buy a Premium Domain name, you are also buying strong branding potential, high recall, and the ability to attract more traffic to your site. Finding a relevant domain name to your business will provide you a storefront online, allowing your customers the most access to your products as possible. Your domain name is an investment that is easy to map back to success, and the perfect available domain name is just around the corner.
Once you've completed your account set up, and picked a theme, your new account is automatically connected to the latest version of WordPress. Simply login to your customer dashboard and find your new site waiting for you to start editing. And if you need help or would like guidance on creating, designing, or promoting your new website or blog, our team of WordPress experts are available 24/7 to help you every step of the way.
10 computers : a subdivision of the Internet consisting of computers or sites usually with a common purpose (such as providing commercial information) and denoted in Internet addresses by a unique abbreviation (such as com for commercial sites or gov for government sites) The domain ca is used for sites located in Canada. also : domain name Our domain is Merriam-Webster.com.
One of the oldest web hosts started in 1996, Bluehost has become the largest brand name when it comes to WordPress hosting. They are an official 'WordPress' recommended hosting provider. With Bluehost, you never have to worry about your website being slow even when there is a lot of traffic. Their 24/7 expert support is always there to help when you need it by phone, email, or live chat. They are rated #1 in web hosting for small businesses. On top of that, they are offering WPBeginner users an exclusive 63% off discount, a Free Domain, Free SSL, and a free Site Builder with templates.
Web hosting is a service that allows organizations and individuals to post a website or web page onto the Internet. A web host, or web hosting service provider, is a business that provides the technologies and services needed for the website or webpage to be viewed in the Internet. Websites are hosted, or stored, on special computers called servers. When Internet users want to view your website, all they need to do is type your website address or domain into their browser. Their computer will then connect to your server and your webpages will be delivered to them through the browser.

When it's time to set up shop, look for a web host that offers the aforementioned dedicated servers, as well as advanced cloud server platforms (such as Amazon Web Services or Google Cloud), custom server builds should you need it, and 24/7 customer support. Depending on your business' focus, you may need a web host that can handle pageviews or visitors that rank in the high thousands or millions. Many busy hosting plans offer an onboarding specialist that can help you get started, too.
You can also host your website on WordPress.com, but that's different from the kind of hosting mentioned above. WordPress.com uses the same code from WordPress.org, but it hides the server code and handles the hosting for you. In that sense, it resembles entries in our online site builder roundup. It's a simpler but less flexible and customizable way to approach WordPress hosting. It's definitely easier, but if you want to tinker and adjust and optimize every aspect of your site, it might not be for you.
1250–1300; Middle English (h)oste (noun) < Middle French < Latin hospit- (stem of hospes) host, guest, stranger, perhaps < *hosti-pot(i)s or *hos-pot(i)s, equivalent to hos(ti)- combining form of hostis stranger (see host2) + -pot(i)s, akin to potis having the power to, posse to be able (see potent1) (hence, “one granting hospitality, one in charge of guests”); compare, with different initial elements, Greek despótēs master, despot, Lithuanian viẽšpats lord
Do you mean besides our screaming fast servers, easy WordPress setup, ultra-reliable service and amazing support team? How about because we can offer you the recommended WordPress setup right out of the box? Not only do you get the best versions of both PHP and MySQL, but we also include a free Let's Encrypt SSL Certificate for your site. This makes the ideal WordPress web hosting environment according WordPress themselves.
Hey Caroline, WordPress.com is a bit of a different animal because you don’t run a self-hosted WordPress site on there. That means, you can’t install all the plugins you might want to (especially on lower plans, where you can’t install plugins at all) and overall have less control over your site than with a self-hosted site. That’s why we didn’t include it in this list. For more information, I recommend this article: https://websitesetup.org/wordpress-com-vs-wordpress-org/
1 : any of the three-dimensional subunits of a protein that together make up its tertiary structure, that are formed by folding its linear peptide chain, and that are variously considered to be the basic units of protein structure, function, and evolution immunoglobulin light chains have two domains and heavy chains have four or five domains, depending on class — Journal of the American Medical Association
When searching for fast WordPress Hosting for your blog (and why wouldn't you want a fast blog), make sure to select the host with a high performance SwiftServer platform. That's A2 Hosting! For page loads up to 20X faster than competing WordPress Web Hosting providers, make sure to host on our blazing fast Turbo Servers. Your account even includes PHP 7 and free HTTPS protection to meet the recommended WordPress Hosting environment!
The WordPress team continued to grow and friends of Mullenweg like Christine Sellect Tremoulet would also contribute to the project. Tremoulet actually was the one who suggested the name "WordPress". WordPress v1.0 was released in January 2004 under the code name Davis. Some of the newest features in this release included SEO friendly permalinks, the ability to post to multiple categories, the addition of comment moderation and Atom support. A few months later in May 2004, version 1.2 was released. This was a bit of a landmark release for WordPress because support for plugins was added in this version. Plugins have played a huge part in helping WordPress grow to the levels it has today because of their ability to add just about any functionality you could want to a site.

Above all else, we strive to deliver outstanding customer experiences. When you buy a domain name from Namecheap, we guarantee it will be handed over to you with superior standards of service and support. Our primary goal is to build a customer-focused atmosphere filled with the happiest customers in the galaxy. The Namecheap guarantee is our mark of excellence.
It’s no secret that WordPress is one of the most well-known blogging platforms on the web. A huge chunk of WordPress hosting customers are interested in blogging features. Users love it for how easy the platform is to just start writing, how many theme options are available to match your blog’s personality, as well as the huge community behind the platform.
The WordPress team continued to grow and friends of Mullenweg like Christine Sellect Tremoulet would also contribute to the project. Tremoulet actually was the one who suggested the name "WordPress". WordPress v1.0 was released in January 2004 under the code name Davis. Some of the newest features in this release included SEO friendly permalinks, the ability to post to multiple categories, the addition of comment moderation and Atom support. A few months later in May 2004, version 1.2 was released. This was a bit of a landmark release for WordPress because support for plugins was added in this version. Plugins have played a huge part in helping WordPress grow to the levels it has today because of their ability to add just about any functionality you could want to a site.
HostGator hosts over 8 million domains and is one of the most popular web hosts in the industry. With 1-click WordPress installation, 99.9% up time guarantee, and 24/7 support, it's a smart choice for every website owner. We consider them one of the best web hosting for businesses. They're offering our readers an exclusive 62% off discount, a free domain name, and free SSL certificate.
Recent Examples on the Web Muhstik relies on multiple command-and-control domains and IP addresses, presumably for redundancy in the event one gets taken down. — Dan Goodin, Ars Technica, "Internet routers running Tomato are under attack by notorious crime gang," 21 Jan. 2020 More sophisticated phishing attacks often use web domains that are similar to well-known addresses but that are slightly misspelled. — David Ingram, NBC News, "From Burisma to Democratic candidates, phishing emails remain security threat," 15 Jan. 2020 Authorities said Adams tried to buy the domain, but the owner repeatedly declined to sell it. — Anna Spoerre, USA TODAY, "Social media influencer Polo sentenced after man held at gunpoint over web domain," 11 Dec. 2019 Microsoft has even gone to court to take over web domains created to lure those who fall for its tricks. — Nicole Perlroth, New York Times, "Microsoft Says Russians Hacked Antidoping Agency Computers," 28 Oct. 2019 Of course, with the relevant emphasis on space as a war fighting domain. — Joe Pappalardo, Popular Mechanics, "The Air Force's Most Famous Pilot School Is Going To Space," 3 Sep. 2019 Of the 53 districts in Texas with more than 25,000 students, San Antonio ISD had the largest improvement in the student achievement domain and the second-largest in student progress, Morath said. — Krista Torralva, ExpressNews.com, "TEA report card has SAISD leading broad improvement of San Antonio area schools," 15 Aug. 2019 This country’s great error has been to separate these domains from each other, investing big business with the godlike power that really belongs in the hands of experts who respect their animals—like Hatidze. — Josephine Livingstone, The New Republic, "Honeyland Is a Stinging Allegory for Man-Made Disaster," 9 Aug. 2019 Microsoft removed the domain and with the help of the government prevented the attack from actually gaining access, Burt said. — Hannah Knowles, The Denver Post, "House intelligence chairman says he learned of Senate campaign hack at security forum in Aspen," 21 July 2019
SiteGround has tools that make managing WordPress sites easy: one-click install, managed updates, WP-Cli, WordPress staging and git integration. We have a very fast support team with advanced WordPress expertise available 24/7. We provide latest speed technologies that make WordPress load faster: NGINX-based caching, SSD-drives, PHP 7, CDN, HTTP/2. We proactively protect the WordPress sites from hacks.
Recent Examples on the Web Muhstik relies on multiple command-and-control domains and IP addresses, presumably for redundancy in the event one gets taken down. — Dan Goodin, Ars Technica, "Internet routers running Tomato are under attack by notorious crime gang," 21 Jan. 2020 More sophisticated phishing attacks often use web domains that are similar to well-known addresses but that are slightly misspelled. — David Ingram, NBC News, "From Burisma to Democratic candidates, phishing emails remain security threat," 15 Jan. 2020 Authorities said Adams tried to buy the domain, but the owner repeatedly declined to sell it. — Anna Spoerre, USA TODAY, "Social media influencer Polo sentenced after man held at gunpoint over web domain," 11 Dec. 2019 Microsoft has even gone to court to take over web domains created to lure those who fall for its tricks. — Nicole Perlroth, New York Times, "Microsoft Says Russians Hacked Antidoping Agency Computers," 28 Oct. 2019 Of course, with the relevant emphasis on space as a war fighting domain. — Joe Pappalardo, Popular Mechanics, "The Air Force's Most Famous Pilot School Is Going To Space," 3 Sep. 2019 Of the 53 districts in Texas with more than 25,000 students, San Antonio ISD had the largest improvement in the student achievement domain and the second-largest in student progress, Morath said. — Krista Torralva, ExpressNews.com, "TEA report card has SAISD leading broad improvement of San Antonio area schools," 15 Aug. 2019 This country’s great error has been to separate these domains from each other, investing big business with the godlike power that really belongs in the hands of experts who respect their animals—like Hatidze. — Josephine Livingstone, The New Republic, "Honeyland Is a Stinging Allegory for Man-Made Disaster," 9 Aug. 2019 Microsoft removed the domain and with the help of the government prevented the attack from actually gaining access, Burt said. — Hannah Knowles, The Denver Post, "House intelligence chairman says he learned of Senate campaign hack at security forum in Aspen," 21 July 2019

One thing we learned in reviewing the services listed here (and many more) is that even though the packages are very similar, they are not identical. Some are more security-focused than others, offering anti-spam and anti-malware tools. Others offer a variety of email marketing tools. While most of the hosts we've reviewed have built-in e-commerce, you may want to consider using a more-robust third-party online shopping cart application like Shopify instead.


A2 Optimized is a product of our team of WordPress experts who noticed a concerning trend of users loading their WordPress sites down with plugins to try and get the fastest, most secure setup possible. Unfortunately, in most instances, too many plugins can actually make a WordPress install slower and less secure. That's because each installed plugin generally slows down a WordPress site and many times these plugins are not updated often enough. Out of date plugins make WordPress sites particularly vulnerable to exploits.
Note: The dual meanings "host"/"guest" of Latin hospes and its progeny are due to customs of reciprocity: a person serving as guest on one occasion would act—and be expected to act—as host on another occasion to a visiting former host. Both Latin hospes and Slavic gospodĭ have undergone a considerable degree of phonetic reduction from their putative etymons—in particular in the Slavic case, where Latin unstressed syllable reduction and syncope were not at play—leading some to question the correctness of the etymologies. Parallel compounds with the same second element are Greek despótēs "master, lord" (going back to *dems-pot- "master of the house"; see despot), Sanskrit dámpatiḥ "householder, lord of the house," Avestan də̄ṇg paitiš; Sanskrit viśpátiḥ "chief of a settlement/tribe," Avestan vīspaitiš, Lithuanian viẽšpats "lord" (with outcomes of Indo-European *u̯iḱ-, *u̯oiḱ- "house, community"; see vicinity).
Well, you went over speed and pricing but what about security. Who has the best overall when security is figured in. I ask because one of the ones you have listed I am on and they didn’t catch the websites being hacked I have 17 websites with code in them, they didn’t catch. It looks like bitcoin mining to me. See I keep asking why my website was loading so slow and they keep saying it was because they were not optimized right. Now the same sites were loading in 1.6 seconds to 1.8. Now they were taking 6.5 to 8 and even 9 seconds to load. THey cost me a great deal of time and money over this and even my backups are junk. I add this also they never found the problem till I personally found the problem and pointed it out. Needless to say, I am done with them…
When it comes to server operating systems, Linux is typically the default option. Still, some services offer a choice of Linux or Windows hosting. If you have specific server-side applications that require Windows, such as SQL Server or a custom application written in .NET, then you need to make sure your web host has Windows hosting. But don't let the idea of a Linux host intimidate you. Nowadays, most web hosts offer a graphical interface or a control panel to simplify server administration and website management. Instead of typing at the command line, you'll click easily identifiable icons.
What we don’t like about their billing process, is that although they offer 30-day money-back, your hosting will automatically renew up to fifteen (15) days before the end of your current term. Furthermore, there are lots of upsells you might want to consider, such as upgrading your plan, as they have concerning bandwidth and storage policy (see Support transcript).
You could think of the sites that share your server as your roommates; there's really not that much separating you from them. Sure, you can close the bedroom door, but they can still cause nightmares for you in the kitchen and the bathroom. In web hosting terms, all the sites share a single server's resources, so huge traffic spike on Site A may impact the neighboring sites' performances. It's even possible that another site could take down the shared server altogether, if it crashed hard enough.
Shared hosting is web hosting in which the provider houses multiple sites on a single server. For example, Site A shares the same server with Site B, Site C, Site D, and Site E. The upside is that the multiple sites share the server cost, so shared web hosting is generally very inexpensive. In fact, you can find an option for less than $10 per month.
On the topic of dedicated hosting, many web hosting services also offer managed hosting. This type of hosting sees the web host act as your IT department, handling a server's maintenance and upkeep. This hosting option is something that you'd typically find with dedicated servers, so it's a business-centric addition. Naturally, it adds a few bucks to the hosting cost, but nothing that should break the bank if you have the resources for a dedicated server.
For packages supporting unmetered disk space or data transfer (bandwidth), we do not have defined limitations. These resources are "unmetered", meaning you are not billed according to the amount of disk space or bandwidth used. While of course these resources are not infinite, we believe our customers should have all the resources necessary to build an online presence and 99.95% of customers will have more than enough disk space and bandwidth to meet their needs.

SiteGround has tools that make managing WordPress sites easy: one-click install, managed updates, WP-Cli, WordPress staging and git integration. We have a very fast support team with advanced WordPress expertise available 24/7. We provide latest speed technologies that make WordPress load faster: NGINX-based caching, SSD-drives, PHP 7, CDN, HTTP/2. We proactively protect the WordPress sites from hacks.


By definition, a domain name is simply a human readable form of an IP address. In function it is the destination that you type into a web browser in order to visit a website, such a www.google.com. Metaphorically, it is very similar to how you would scroll to a contact in your cell phone rather than manually dialing the person by entering their full phone number; the phone number would be an IP address and the saved contact would be a domain name. Always buy a domain with a reputable domain registrar. 

Now that you know all of your WordPress hosting options, it is time for you to make a decision. We run several sites that get millions of pageviews per month. We have tested and worked with all top web hosting companies in the industry. After having helped 200,000+ users and years of experience, our founder Syed Balkhi have personally hand-picked some of the most well-reputed WordPress hosting providers for you. Each of these WordPress hosting companies provide excellent service and support. We give each of them a perfect 5 out of 5 star rating. Check out the list of best web hosting providers.
1 : any of the three-dimensional subunits of a protein that together make up its tertiary structure, that are formed by folding its linear peptide chain, and that are variously considered to be the basic units of protein structure, function, and evolution immunoglobulin light chains have two domains and heavy chains have four or five domains, depending on class — Journal of the American Medical Association
WordPress is free so there are no additional monthly hosting costs except for custom themes, premium plug-ins, and so on, though any additional plug-ins or add-ons consume utility resources. You can get cheap WordPress Hosting for your site, but you want to make sure you get a quality and reliable provider. For big photo galleries, shared media files, or large databases users should plan their budgets accordingly. The WordPress application is a free download from Wordpress.org or it can come pre-installed from A2 Hosting (we also offer an easy 1-click setup via Softaculous if you prefer). With the latter method, the basic framework of a new WordPress site can be running in a few minutes. Manually downloaded installations can more intricate but a web administrator should be able to get your WordPress site up fairly quickly.
Often overlooked, web hosting is one of the key components of every successful website. Choosing the best WordPress hosting for your needs can improve your SEO and increase sales. There are various different types of WordPress hosting options available such as Free, Shared, VPS, Dedicated, and managed WordPress hosting. In this guide, we will help you choose the best WordPress hosting for your website.
Once you've completed your account set up, and picked a theme, your new account is automatically connected to the latest version of WordPress. Simply login to your customer dashboard and find your new site waiting for you to start editing. And if you need help or would like guidance on creating, designing, or promoting your new website or blog, our team of WordPress experts are available 24/7 to help you every step of the way.
WordPress is an uber-popular content management system that powers more than 32 percent of the world wide web. Its success is understandable; WordPress is easy to use, and it boasts an incredible library of themes and plug-ins that enhance your site in many ways. In fact, WordPress is the foundation for millions of websites, from personal pages to big brand online destinations, such as Bloomberg and The New Yorker. If you're thinking about building a website and don't want to code it from scratch, WordPress is the way to go.
Note: The dual meanings "host"/"guest" of Latin hospes and its progeny are due to customs of reciprocity: a person serving as guest on one occasion would act—and be expected to act—as host on another occasion to a visiting former host. Both Latin hospes and Slavic gospodĭ have undergone a considerable degree of phonetic reduction from their putative etymons—in particular in the Slavic case, where Latin unstressed syllable reduction and syncope were not at play—leading some to question the correctness of the etymologies. Parallel compounds with the same second element are Greek despótēs "master, lord" (going back to *dems-pot- "master of the house"; see despot), Sanskrit dámpatiḥ "householder, lord of the house," Avestan də̄ṇg paitiš; Sanskrit viśpátiḥ "chief of a settlement/tribe," Avestan vīspaitiš, Lithuanian viẽšpats "lord" (with outcomes of Indo-European *u̯iḱ-, *u̯oiḱ- "house, community"; see vicinity).
If you’re looking for the fastest WordPress hosting option, you don’t have to scan very far down this page. InMotion Hosting includes free solid-state disks for up to 20 times greater page loading speed. SiteGround and Bluehost include a free content delivery network, which distributes your site around the world to servers that can reach visitors quicker. For ecommerce sites, in particular, stronger user experiences mean you run less risk of losing customers (and thus, revenue).

For packages supporting unmetered disk space or data transfer (bandwidth), we do not have defined limitations. These resources are "unmetered", meaning you are not billed according to the amount of disk space or bandwidth used. While of course these resources are not infinite, we believe our customers should have all the resources necessary to build an online presence and 99.95% of customers will have more than enough disk space and bandwidth to meet their needs.
An SSL connection encrypts the data that travels between your site and users' web browsers, thus safeguarding the transmission of purchasing information. All the WordPress hosting services in this roundup offer SSL certificates, but the prices vary from company to company. Some companies include a free SSL certificate when you sign up for a hosting plan, while others charge close to $100.
×